Interscholastic Star Award

The Interscholastic Star scholarship program is sponsored by the Idaho High School Activities Association and First Federal Bank. This scholarship program was established in 1992 to recognize and reward outstanding students who participate in high school athletic and non-athletic activities.

Nominees for the scholarships are exemplary students who:

  • Through their participation, strengthen interscholastic sports and activities programs.
  • Are active contributors to school and community organizations and programs.
  • Are good citizens and positive role models for their peers.
  • Promote the ideals of good sportsmanship and citizenship.

2023-2024 Scholarship Recipient

Calyn Permann, from Rockland HS was selected as the "Idaho Star" 

Calyn will grace the back covers of the 24-25 state tournament programs.

All six Interscholastic Stars are leaders in their schools and communities

  1A DII Star: Calyn Permann - Rockland High School

A multiple sport athlete at Rockland HS, Calyn has participated in Volleyball, Basketball and Track.  She is active in Music, Cheer, Drama while participating in FFA and Student Government. She also participates in the schools Pep Club and Sources of Strength program.

  1A DI Star: Autum Martinez - Clearwater Valley High School

Autum has been a part of the Volleyball and Softball teams at Clearwater Valley HS.  She is a member of the Student Government, Drama and Music programs.  She also is leader in her community through Idaho County Ambassadors and Kids for Community.

  2A Star: Nayeli Juarez - Wendell High School

A three sport athlete at Wendell HS, where she is a captain in all three sports. Nayeli is also involved in Student Government, Cheer and FFA.  As a member of the Student Council, Nayeli helped sponsor a canned food drive for children at Christmas.

  3A Star: Ashlyn Lloyd - Fruitland High School

Ashlyn has participated in Soccer, Basketball and Track at Fruitland HS.  She enjoys music, drama and marching band.  Ashlyn is a member of FFA and has assisted in the “Grizzly Corridor” program which created a donation center in Fruitland.

  4A Star: Katlyn Wyne - Columbia High School

A state and national competitor for the Columbia Dance team, Katlyn has also participated for the State XC and Track teams while in high school. She is a member of Student Council and NHS where she volunteered with a triathlon and painted a daycare center.

  5A Star: Tayana Powell - Owyhee High School

As an active member of the Owyhee HS Speech and Debate teams, Tayana’s leadership has helped the school qualify for state and nationals.  She participates in Tennis, HOSA and other clubs, such as NHS which will include a service trip to Guatemala.

Interscholastic Stars receive a $1,000 scholarship to the college of their choice. A $500 check is also given to each Star’s school.  Runner’s up at each level receive a $500 scholarship.  The Overall "Idaho Star" is awarded an addition $1500

Provided by local dairy farm families
Official IHSAA Tournament Sponsor

YEA Foundation of Idaho
Youth Endowment for Activities

© Copyright 2009-2024 Idaho High School Activities Association (IHSAA).  All rights reserved.